Collagen is a protein that makes up our skin, hair, ligaments and bones. It is typically derived from fish or bovine connective tissue. Though collagen can now be made by using genetically modified yeast and bacteria, most collagen taken in supplement form is not vegan.
Many people choose veganism for numerous reasons—to benefit their health, address moral concerns, or even reduce their environmental impact. When practicing veganism, getting essential nutrients like collagen can be challenging at times, but there are alternatives.